Come See Me at FtBConscience!

FtBCon starts today and, while I am sad I will be missing Dave Silverman’s opening because I’ll running my bisexual support group tonight, I will be around for other sessions. You can see the full schedule at FtBCon.org or on Lanyrd.

More to the point, I will be speaking at a session!

Improving the Image of Atheists

by Kaoru Negisa, Stephanie Zvan, Chris Ho-Stuart, James Croft and Sarah Moglia

Atheists have an image problem. We didn’t create it, but we’re the ones with an interest in fixing it. Let’s talk about the range of strategies for doing that while still fighting our fights.

At 10:00am to 11:00am, Sunday 21st July (Central Standard Time)

That’s right, kids: I am waking up early on a Sunday, which I’m pretty sure nullifies part of the point of being an atheist, just so I can talk to you about how we can show the world that we only eat babies when Evolution tells us to. Seriously, I’ll be talking a lot about the appearance of atheists in pop culture, but hopefully also be listening to the rest of the panelists who, I assure you, are pretty much all smarter and better at this than me.

Other than me, there are a ton of fantastic panels that people will be on, including one on Atheists in Pop Culture (that I couldn’t get on because they already were over their awesome quotient on speakers), a fascinating looking panel on the harm of pseudoscience featuring the inestimable Miri, Professional Fun-Ruiner and several other great speakers, a panel on myths and facts about trans* people, one about female protagonists in video games, and those are all just on Sunday after I speak.

So go to their website, follow the con on Twitter, follow along on Google +, look at the schedule on Lanyrd, and go listen to all of the very smart, very insightful people (and me), talk about things, interact with you in chatrooms and via Q&A segments, and generally hang out online with some of the owners of the internet.

Leave a Reply

