Plenty of Jokes, Laughs at Al Smith Dinner

Every year, the Gov. Alfred E. Smith Memorial Foundation hosts a very important dinner. This particular foundation is Catholic, so the specific host is the repulsive Timmy Dolan, taking time out of his busy schedule of assuring there’s more babies for the Church to kidnap to actually help the poor. I suspect he kicked puppies all the way home to maintain his sense of self-righteous superiority.

What’s important about the Al Smith dinner, much like the Correspondent’s dinner, is that it’s a big political event, a sort of political prom night. However, because of its proximity to the election every four years, generally both presidential candidates are invited and given the opportunity to humanize themselves to voters before the polls open.

This year, I have to say, both candidates were hilarious. They had good timing, the jokes were well written (by professionals on both sides, I assure you), and generally I found myself laughing. It was also Mitt Romney’s most honest speech to date.

My favorite joke from each:

Romney: “Usually when I’m invited to things like this, it’s to be the designated driver.”

Obama: “Some of you may have noticed I had a lot more energy in our second debate. I felt really well rested after the nice long nap I had in the first debate.”

Anyway, watch them yourself. Very funny stuff.

Leave a Reply

