The Senator from Durotar

I don’t play MMOs. I did play Champions Online briefly, but I really am a very busy person and, even if I did, I would try Guild Wars 2 and join the Godless guild. I know so little about WoW I had to look up the name in the title of this post, and am only vaguely sure if it’s funny or just pathetic.

But I know it’s at least 1,579,029 times less pathetic than the Maine GOP trying to use Senate candidate Colleen Lachowicz’s WoW playing against her. Seriously, they found out she played WoW and have been trying to portray her as violent and out of touch with reality.

This is just amazingly sad. And they’re handling it like an octogenarian recluse, throwing around stereotypes that has been applied to nerds for…well, quite some time. I’m surprised they don’t somewhere just refer to it as D&D (that’s what generic nerds play, right?) and accuse her of living in her mother’s basement.

The website is just a collection of things she’s said on forums, most of them talking about how much she likes stabbing people in the game. As somebody who stabs people at least once a week, and most weekends when the weather is cool enough, and does so with an actual sword (though dull and rubber tipped), I approve of this. Stabbing people is fun.

You know what’s not fun? Being a douchebag. Which makes me wonder if the Maine GOP does that just because they seem to be really good at it.

2 thoughts on “The Senator from Durotar

  1. Pingback: The Most Important Election in the History of Azeroth | Reasonable Conversation

  2. Pingback: Election Post-mortem | Reasonable Conversation

Leave a Reply

