Good on Dr. Lindsay

I would like to add my voice to the chorus of people who are thanking Ron Lindsay for finally issuing an apology for what happened during WiS2. It’s not the most vociferous, but it’s also not a not-pology. He recognizes his mistake and shows that he has listened to people. You can go read it yourself, but it’s short so here’s the repost:

It has been a few weeks since I have said anything in public about the controversy over my remarks at the Women in Secularism 2 conference.  As CFI announced via Twitter, this pause was to enable the board to have time to consider the matter.  The board has issued its statement.  It is now an appropriate time for me to make some remarks.

I am sorry that I caused offense with my talk.  I am also sorry I made some people feel unwelcome as a result of my talk.  From the letters sent to me and the board, I have a better understanding of the objections to the talk.

I am also sorry that my talk and my actions subjected my colleagues and the organization to which I am devoted to criticism.

Please accept my apologies.

While, again, it was not long and didn’t go much into detail, I believe that it was honest and is a good place to start a conversation. Thus far I have said that my concern with Dr. Lindsay has been his silence in regards to what happened. That he has come out to say this has addressed that concern, and gives me hope that the man who less than a year ago believed that those who make women in the atheist/skeptical movement feel uncomfortable could be safely No True Scotsmaned away might have learned something from this incident.

Now if only we could get Russell Blackford to drop his increasingly familiar act of melodramatic indignation, that would be an accomplishment.

(h/t Almost Diamonds)

2 thoughts on “Good on Dr. Lindsay

  1. Pingback: Accepting Ron Lindsay’s Apology » Greta Christina's Blog

  2. Blackford would rather cut off his left foot than apologize for his bloody-minded egotism. He feels he’s the wronged party because PZ Myers was rude to him. The man carries a grudge seemingly forever and lumps everyone with the least hint of feminism in the group of people who failed to appreciate poor, oppressed Russell.

Leave a Reply

